Role in the project: Participant in Pilot 8 Vjosa, the shared river

The Municipality of Përmet was formed during the 2015 local government reform, by the merger of the former municipalities Çarshovë, Frashër, Përmet, Petran and Qendër Piskovë, that became municipal units. The seat of the municipality is in the town of Përmet. The total population is 20,301 (according to the civil registry), in a total area of 601.95 km2. Përmet town has historically been a local government center and been documented as such at least since the early 15th century AD, covering also the rural areas of the Upper Vjosa Valley.

The municipality of Përmet is responsible for planning, administration, development and control of the territory, including the promotion and protection of cultural assets and tourism. Permet is a municipality that cherishes its natural treasures and cultural heritage while embracing the possibilities of the future. The municipality seeks to strike a balance between economic growth and environmental conservation. By fostering sustainable tourism practices and supporting local industries, Permet aims to create opportunities that benefit both the community and the environment.

Key person(s)

Denisa Mamillo – As of 2017 she is the Head of EU Integration and Foreign Aid Unit in the municipality of Përmet. She received her bachelor and master studies in International Management at the School of Economics at the University of Bologna. PhD awarded in the European University of Tirana, where she worked as a lecturer at the Department of Management and Marketing. She has experience in managing EUfunded projects awarded to the Municipality of Përmet. Contact: